Cara Delevingne: My Bisexuality is Not a ‘Phase’

Published July 22, 2015

After a Vogue article about model and aspiring actress Cara Delevigne claimed that her bisexuality may be a phase, Delevigne spoke to the New York Times to defend her sexuality.

“My sexuality is not a phase,” she said. Delevigne also said that she found “nothing malicious” about the Vogue article. “I am who I am.”

Delevigne, 22, was linked to Michelle Rodriguez a few years ago and is now happily in love with singer St. Vincent.

“I think that being in love with my girlfriend is a big part of why I’m feeling so happy with who I am these days,” Delevigne said. “And for those words to come out of my mouth is actually a miracle.”

In the Vogue article, writer Rob Haskell wrote, “Her parents seem to think girls are just a phase for Cara. And they may be correct.”

Delevigne said that while her bisexuality is no phase for her, it took her a while to accept it.

Cara Delevingne/Instagram
Cara Delevingne/Instagram

“It took me a long time to accept the idea, until I first fell in love with a girl at 20 and recognized I had to accept it.”

Delevigne, who stars in the new movie Paper Towns has wanted to act since she was a child.

“I went through so much therapy as a kid, and I hated it,” she said.

Though she grew up in a privileged London home, her mother was a heroin addict.

“And because you get so used to saying the same thing over and over again, it just becomes a story. I always wanted to act, from when I was four years old. When I was younger, I hated myself, so I preferred being other people.”

Delevigne said one of the challenges of acting is to learn to block out distractions.

She said, “Being in love helps, you know? If you’re in love with someone, you can be with them like no one else is in the room. Acting is like that. It’s taking that feeling and turning it on so nothing else matters when you’re looking in another actor’s face.”

Leave a Reply

